Tel Aviv University

The Raimond and Beverly Sackler International Prize
in the Physical Sciences

Call for Nominations for the Year 2006

in the field of

Theoretical or Experimental Nuclear/Hadron Physics

previous years winners

New winners HERE!

The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in the Physical Sciences was established through the generosity of Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler. Prizes are awarded each year in the disciplines of either Physics or Chemistry. The Prize supports dedication to science, originality and excellence, and it is intended for young scientists who have made outstanding and fundamental contributions in their fields.

The Sackler Prize is administered by Tel Aviv University. In 2006 a prize of $40,000 will be presented for outstanding research in the field of theoretical and experimental nuclear/hadron physics. The prize will be awarded to the recipient, in person, at the annual session of the TAU Board of Governors meeting (during the week of 21 May 2006).

There is an age limit of 40 for all nominees. To be eligible the nominee's birth date must be after 1 January 1966. Nominees of age 36 or less will be preferred.

The coordinator for the 2006 Sackler Prize is Prof. Yuval Ne'eman (TAU).
The assistant coordinator is Prof. Eli Piasetzky (TAU).

An international selection panel composed of leading scientists in the field is appointed each year.

Nominations for the Sackler Prize can be made by individuals in any of the following categories:

1) Faculty of Physics, Astronomy or Chemistry departments in institutions of higher learning world wide.
2) Presidents, Rectors, Vice-Presidents, Provosts and Deans, of institutions of higher learning world wide.
3) Directors of laboratories world wide.
4) Sackler Prize laureates.

All nominations (press HERE to download a form in pdf)  should be submitted in writing before the deadline of 15 March 2006 to the following address:

Prof. Yuval Ne'eman
Raymond and Beverly Sackler Faculty of Exact Sciences
School of Physics and Astronomy
Tel-Aviv University
Ramat Aviv 69978

Each nomination should include a brief description of the nominee's achievements, and must be supported by at least two letters of recommendation and include the nominee's CV and list of publications.

Members of TAU faculty are not eligible to receive the prize. Self-nominations cannot be accepted.

For email inquiries please contact